“Bless Us All”

I’m blue.

Nay, I’m neither a Smurf nor suffering from the same elements poor Veruca Salt experienced in “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”…I’m just plain blue…out of sorts, not myself, mopey, angsty blue.

violet

When I woke up this morning (apparently, on the wrong side of the bed), I just knew something was off.  Something was amiss.  I ran through a list of possible causes in my head:  Underwear?  Check.  Waking up at 6 AM and NOT 6:00 PM?  Check.  Waking up in my own bed?  (My dog burrowing from beneath the covers confirmed this).  Check.  Then, why on earth did I feel like something wasn’t right?

My morning commute still found me feeling a little numb.  Instead of dwelling amidst a sea of self-doubt and worry, I decided to be proactive in eradicating this feeling.  Weapon of choice?  Christmas music.

bing

Bing.  Bennett.  Mathis.  Carpenter.  Taylor.  The “Big Guns.”  Yielding such impressive artillery as “Silver Bells,”  “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year,” “Merry Christmas, Darlin’,” and ‘White Christmas,” one would think that a blue mood could effectively be annihilated by a mere 15 minutes of easy listening. 

I never expected such a worthy foe to stand in my way.

The clouds stayed over my head for much of my drive this morning.  Bing Crosby just shook his head, wiped his hands, and said “I got nothin’!”  Tony Bennett shouted “I’m giving her all she’s got, Captain!” and beamed away.  All hope seemed lost….until….

kermit

For the love of Jim Henson!  The Muppets!

I was instantly whisked away to a land of warmth and fuzzy puppets.  My insides melted, and my heart grew three sizes.  I heard the sweet, dulcet tones of the “Muppet-fied” version of Tiny Tim singing “Bless Us All,” and all traces of a blue mood slowly faded away.  I found myself singing along with Kermit, Ms. Piggy and Rizzo the Rat, and I had no choice but to smile.  I mean, honestly…it is impossible to not feel better after hearing puppets sing about Christmas.

It is remarkable, though, that while the big crooners of Christmas were ineffective in lifting my mood, it took the Muppets a mere 3 seconds to do so.  It was almost like an old friend had appeared before me, welcoming me to their side with open arms.  That’s how I feel about all of the Christmas movies I adore.  When I watch them, I can’t help but be transported back to a time and place where I snuggled next to The Mom on the couch and watched films for hours, while eating cinnamon sugar doughnuts and hot, crisp apple cider.  I can smell the authentic Frasier fur Christmas tree in the background, and I can see the soft, comforting glow of the lights and ornaments hanging on its branches.  And, I can feel the excitement of being a 7-year-old at Christmastime…an excitement I truly want to bring back.

Good movies are like good friends:  whenever you think of them, you’re reminded of wonderful memories together and can’t wait to see them again.  This goes double for Christmas movies. 

This realization helped me come up with my RAC for the day.  I realized that when we are at our worst, the things which comfort us and bring us back to our best are great friends. I am so thankful to have the best friends that anyone could ask for.  For the first time in my life, I really feel like my friends like me for me, and I feel no feelings of uncertainty, doubt, or self-consciousness when I’m around them.  In fact, I feel the most like myself when I’m with these people.  And, in a time where we are giving thanks to the things we are most grateful for, I knew I had to show that gratitude in some way.

For my RAC, I decided to write “thinking of you” notes to random friends I haven’t spoken to in a while.  This RAC will be ongoing for the entire week, but I’ve already written two, which have prompted me to write more. 

I’m not gonna lie:  I used to have crappy friends.  The story behind this statement would take far too long to recount in a blog post, but suffice it to say that it took me a long time to rebuild my abilities to trust in people.  Now that I’m running at 98% Trust Mode (still not perfect!), I am undeniably grateful for the real friends I have gained over the past two years.  I’ve had to sift through a lot to find them. But, as any good baker is willing to do, you have to keep sifting if you want to make the very best baked goods.

sifter

If you have a great friend, tell them they’re greatIt probably took you a while to find them, so hold on to them as tightly as you can.  Remind these people that they mean a lot to you, and show them how much you appreciate their kindness and loyalty.  They’re responsible for making you better than who you are, and, chances are, they’re also able to pull you out of a bad mood and change your entire day.  And, like The Muppets, they remind you of nostalgic memories that bring love to your life and a song to your heart….

“I look into the eyes of love, and know where I belong…”

RAC #18:  Writing “thinking of you” notes to old friends

Result:  gratitude on my behalf; the strong desire to see these old friends and travel (hmm, perhaps an RAC in the making?)


SO!  What do you think?  What new Random Acts of Christmas should I attempt over the next few days?  Leave your ideas below, or navigate to my RAC Suggestions page and leave them there! 

Happy Holidays!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Muppets make EVERYTHING better! Especially the Muppets Christmas Carol. My favorite? The Ghost of Christmas Present!

    Dear Lord we ARE the same person!

    Reply

    • I have a soft spot for Muppets 🙂
      John Denver and the Muppets is my favorite.
      Andy Williams Screams Christmas to me but so does the Santa Clause. I am feeling especially festive this year, maybe it is all the snow we have so far. 🙂

      Reply

      • Andy Williams, huh? I will definitely look for some of his CDs. I know I have a few of his songs on iTunes. And I love “The Santa Clause!” One of Tim Allen’s best. My holiday favorite still is, and forever will be, Home Alone (and Home Alone 2, since I lived in NYC for 2 years).

    • Two things in life scared me before the age of 10: the tornado in Wizard of Oz…and the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come. I could not WATCH that part of Muppets’ Christmas Carol that featured that ghost until I was much, much older (okay, so I STILL get the heebie jeebies from him…who doesn’t?) One of my favorite songs is “It Feels Like Christmas”…I had a crappy end to my end, and you’d better believe that I’m cranking that song on the way home!

      Just to check…you don’t happen to have curly hair, a love for Grey’s Anatomy, and an affinity for Peanut Butter Oreos? ‘Cause then we might just be twins separated at birth…

      Reply

  2. Posted by Uncle Lewis on November 19, 2010 at 3:30 am

    The buffalo springfield “For What it’s Worth” is my favorite Muppet memory.
    There is nothing like Christmas music to lighten a day. Hard to be in a bad mood when Karen Carpenter is singing to me.
    Christmas music brings wonderful memories of my mom and my childhood. It all brings home your message today… Send notes to the people who touch your life… because life is short and you never know when you will miss your chance. I love your messages and how you write them. I wish I could be as eloquent as you.

    Keep em comin… I’m hooked! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi auntbehtany,
    Thank You for stopping by my blog.
    Yes the Muppet’s always brings a smile to your face, and Christmas is getting closer by the day, and I also love the Carols. Here where I live we don’t get snow, but we use “fake” snow around here and there as part of our decorations.

    Reply

    • In the past few years, the snow hasn’t stuck around long enough to be present on Christmas Day…that’s all I want! Just a beautiful, poignant snowfall on Christmas Day…and then it is allowed to evaporate on December 31st 🙂

      Reply

  4. I know what you mean about a blue mood hanging around. But it is pretty hard to stay sad with the muppets. I recently found Johnny Cash on Sesame Street videos on YouTube and they were great.

    Reply

  5. Might I recommend Red Peters’ “Holy Sh*t, It’s Christmas”?

    🙂

    It swings!

    Pearl

    Reply

    • I will definitely look that up! I’m hoping it’s as funny as the title. This morning, I listened to Stephen Colbert’s “Hey, It’s Another Christmas Song”…it’s impossible to hear that AND not chuckle a bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

