Tossing My Cookies

Over the past two weeks, it has become very clear to me that many of my RACs are dominated by food:  pumpkin cookies, chocolate covered cherries, coffee, frappes, Sam Adams beer, and Chips Ahoy cookies.  I noted in one of my posts that this is certainly not a bad thing…food has an odd and magical way of bringing people together.  Friends and family members gather around tables adorned with turkey, cranberry sauce, stuffing, gravy, potatoes and pumpkin pie every November, partaking in kin, companionship, and joy.  You’d be hard pressed to find one person at these parties who is irritated by the wonderful dishes presented before them.

andy

Take it from someone who has a crazy family..when your mouths are full, you can’t throw chairs, emit steam from your ears, or fight until the meal is done!

simpsons

It’s pretty much accepted that yes, food can and will bring people together, even if you have to break out the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake when Papa Phil’s hearing aid goes on the fritz and Gram starts spewing a mouthful of delicious obscenities (true story).  Butcan food bring complete strangers together?


Yesterday, I entered my last Tuesday as a student teacher with my bookbag in one hand and Oreos** in the other.  It was my intention to pass out Oreos to my first class of the day to provide therapy after a tough music theory quiz.  This was to be my official RAC for the day, but I took a different path when I hit an amusing fork in the road.

(** = the “Oreos” in question were NOT actual Oreos; they were, in fact, Wal-Mart “Twist and Shout” cookies, but for all intents and purposes, the term Oreo can still apply…in fact, these cookies were almost better than Oreos!  And for only $1.79!)

I entered the school work room to make copies for my classes, thermos, bookbag, lunch box, and Oreos in hand.  I plopped everything down on a big work table in the middle of the room, noting three teachers already standing in line to use the copier.  My Oreos crinkled excitedly in their crisp, plastic packaging.  They announced their presence to the room much like a bawling three-year-old in the middle of a church sermon.

I felt badly for blatantly toting around such a delectable treat, especially when I couldn’t rightly offer it to complete strangers around me—

ah ha

EUREKA! That’s it!  Why couldn’t I offer my Oreos to complete strangers?  Did the Wise Men offer their gold, Frankensteins, and a guy named Murray to a close acquaintance?  No! They took a risk and traveled from the Orient to give awesome swag to a baby they didn’t even know.  And, look what happened with that!  Awesome things of gigantic proportions results from that initial meeting…just think what Oreos could do!!!

So, I surveyed my surroundings:  two faculty members deep in an intense discussion, one aide waiting to use the copier, one student teacher (that’s me) waiting for her copy job to process while simultaneously wondering how to offer strangers cookies without seeming creepy.

I mean, how do you offer strangers food?  Do you just say, “here…want some cookies?!?”

Yup.

Me: (to the aide waiting in line)  Can I offer you an Oreo?

Aide: (looking a bit perplexed, then deciding the offer trumped her fast of all things sugary)  I always would love an Oreo…thank you!

Me: (turning to the other two people in the room, who are still engaged in conversation)  Would anybody like some Oreos?

It was random…it was crazy…and boy, was it fun! The faculty members left in the work room politely turned down my gourmet offering, but I was giddy…giving to random people was exciting!  I had to try again.  I approached the school secretary, who, also, seemed a bit confused by the offer, but very appreciatively turned me down (what, people don’t eat cookies and other desserts for breakfast?  Today, I had a slice of The Mom’s pumpkin pie for breakfast…with whipped cream, to boot).

Walking down the hall to my classroom, I stumbled upon a group of “Attitudinally Challenged” females from my holiday choir…girls who have attempted, and failed, to push all of my buttons at the same time.  I’m pretty sure I gave them an aneurism when I approached them and said:

Me:  Would you girls like some Oreos?

Them:  Oh…uh…no………………

Me:  (waiting for it)………………

Them: ……………………….thank you.

Ah ha!  Gratitude from the ungrateful!  Victory is mine!

stewie

I begin to walk away…

Them: WAIT!  Are you still gonna have those in holiday choir?

Muah ha ha…I have them now!!!

I eventually passed out all of my Oreos to students, teachers, and my colleagues (who, oddly, somehow flocked to my desk and knew to ask for an Oreo…odd).  This random, unplanned, spontaneous RAC, that began with no forethought, suddenly became the highlight of my day.  I left school that afternoon with a smile on my face and plans to continue these types of acts more often.  I mean, just think of it:  what if I had passed out free puppies instead?!?

RAC #18Handing out free Oreos to strangers

Result:  Glee, mirth, pleasant shock and awe from faculty members , gratitude from previously defiant students, an odd sense of joy and giddyness

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bella Rum on November 17, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    How fun this sounds and what a great idea for the holidays. RAC!
    Who doesn’t love Oreos or Oreo-like cookies? I’d have a hard time turning you down.

    Reply

    • I think because I offered these people Oreos at 7:45 AM in the morning, they were a little less likely to take one off my hands! Why is there such a stigma about having cookies for breakfast?!? They’ve got some nutrition in them….right? Right?!?

      Reply

  2. Puppies? I like puppies! Pick me, pick me!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nazia on November 18, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Yes sharing food and good cooking can develop good relation among strangers and can be reason of strong association with known people. Eating , cooking altogether is good fun.People who possess good nature are either naturally good cook or cant avoid sharing food even with strangers.It is one of good gestures and remembered for long time who enjoy your sharing and eating habits.

    Reply

    • Come to think of it, you’re spot on about people who share/cook/bake food with others: they are naturally good-natured. I don’t think I would like to try chocolate chip cookies if they came from a bitter person (and they probably wouldn’t taste as good)!

      Reply

  4. It is again my strong observation that our intentions and passions transmit through our all acts and facial gestures too.
    So if you are in happy mood and have some innate of cooking you can give best quality of food of any kind. Cooking is also strong representation of your sentiments to your love ones.
    try this and think what I am trying to deliver through this soup making.

    http://naziaiftikhar.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/the-logical-and-spiritual-concept-of-ramen-soup-in-japanese-cuisine/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

